top of page

Wolfgang Laib


Laib is a German artist who is known as a sculptor. He produces sculptures and installations marked by a serene presence and a reductive beauty. These works are usually made from one or a combination of two materials, accumulated from natural elements such as milk, rice, marble, pollen and beeswax. Which have been selected for their purity and symbolic associations. This specific piece Pollen from Hazelnut really came to my interest and I just love the vibrant glow the appearance of this piece has. It's almost like looking at the sun and experiencing the warmth it gives. I also find the time and dedication to personally collect and store the pollen to create this installation is beautiful. Natural materials is something I like to use and incorporate within my sculptures, I never thought about pollen and how important it is in nature and our lives.

Laib has stated that“pollen is the potential beginning of the life of the plant. It is as simple, as beautiful, and as complex as this. And of course it has so many meanings. I think everybody who lives knows that pollen is important.”


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page