top of page

Bethan Huws- Singing for the Sea


Singing for the Sea is a twelve minute film shot in the summer of 1993, the film documents a group of eight female Bulgarian singers performing on a beach in Alnwick, Northumberland, on the coast of the North Sea. This video piece records a poetic displacement: the transposition of the Bistrista Babi from central Europe to the north east coast of England.

Listening and watching the video piece is something I find really relaxing, you feel connected with the women who are singing and dancing as well as the sea that you can hear in the background. It looks at the tradition of singing and how it is also a part of peoples lives.

Boats is another piece of Huw's work that I really like, the little boats are formed from a single length of grass spiraled in on itself. They were elemental within the artists work and they derive from her childhood culture; self-contained and centred, they conveyed considerable presence far beyond their size,

I love how her work varies from different medias such as video, sculpture, installation etc. Bethan is an artist that is hard to keep up with but it is really intriguing to see what she does next. She is definitely an artist that I believe is inspiring and has made me have a different outlook on what I want to do and the possibilities I can do in my projects and work.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page