top of page

Art crit- Jessica, Caitlin and Myself


This art crit I got to show my work alongside Jessica and Caitlin's work, we started the crit with my work which was my mini egg sculptures which were spread out across the studio floor. I got a lot of positive feedback which was good and everyone that was there seemed to like what I had made and my intentions on what to do with them, Some people suggested that they could see them being larger than they are to be placed outside somewhere like a park to be able to walk through or around. Which was something I found really interesting.

Moving onto Caitlin's painting piece which beautifully stood out on the centre of the wall, the natural colours all contrasted each other and the figure in the painting. I really liked this painting especially on the canvas that hasn't been stretched, how it's just placed onto the wall really adds something to the painting. I like how some parts of the figure in the painting are blurred or smudged, makes me feel like there is a story or meaning.

Jessica's portraits were really interesting and different, the mark making and the use of different materials was nice to see. The middle portrait is my favourite, I liked the way the luminous pink is behind the white it makes it stand out and also reminded me of glow sticks or fluorescent lights.

I really like how there was more than just one and that they were all done differently but still manage to look the same slightly. A wall full of a series of these with the coloured back or even lights would be really nice.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page