top of page

Hoops, Wool,Flowers and Felted Eggs?


I needed to dry some flowers that I had purchased and I usually dry them out in silica gel which keeps the colour and shape of the flower but I also wanted to try other drying methods so I left some flowers by the window and I hung some on my wall in the studio with some wool. They took longer to dry out but I really liked the result. I really wanted to do something with embroidery hoops, there is just something I like about them when they are placed on a wall or hung. I am not sure what I am going to do with them just yet but it's a little idea I like and may come back to.

It's that time of year when Easter is upon us and working with egg shells in my previous project I have continued to develop my ideas further and to try new materials. I came across felting and I was intrigued by the craft, it was definitely something I wanted to try and I thought it would fit perfectly in with my project. It was hard to make the egg shape the first time I tried and a little time consuming so I was thinking how I could make more and in less time. I came across some polystyrene eggs and used the merino wool to wrap and shape around the egg. It was much easier and it meant I used less wool for each egg.

I decided to make a few plain white eggs which will have flowers felted into them and some poetry.The reason I have stuck with the egg shape is because it symbolises life, growth and a new beginning. Something I am very interested in and keeping them to a small scale gives it more importance to how nature is a big thing in the world yet a lot of people don't appreciate it or realise how important it is to us as well as the animals in nature. It may be a small topic to some, it might not even cross your mind but one day, when it's gone. It'll be to late to do anything to change it. My other idea is to stretch the wool across the embroidery hoops and create a mini landscape or scene onto it. I may also place the eggs in the middle of the wool but I am not to sure about it yet, it is still something I need to try.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page