top of page

Art Crit: Kate, Davika, Jess and Alex


This art crit is one that I really enjoyed attending. I loved all the work that was presented and it is really nice to see what people have been doing and their ideas behind their work. The different medias used painting to photography, colour and music performance, sculpture and installation. The ones that stood out to me the most were Kate's little family of sharks dominating the space of the room and Alex's beautifully preformed music piece which a part of his landscape paintings.

Kate's sharks are cleverly put together with the use of straws to build a geometric 3D sculpture of the shark which is a big change from the bears she was previously doing in Semester 1. However they both have something in common, they are both predators and to some people they are animals we fear. I like how she has used the straws to create her sculpture as it could have a message behind the littering and damage we cause to sea life from plastic that isn't recycled. I also like how she has used the space to her advantage for the sculptures, the geometric shapes I can always imagine them being filled up with glass to use the body of the shark as a tank or to use coloured cellophane and when the light hits it it'll make a nice pattern in the room its installed in. Overall it's a project I can't wait to see develop further as I am always impressed with Kate's work.

Alex had previously shown his work of landscapes and some parts of it were blocked colours over lapping the scene which was nice and it was to indicate a sound that represented that particular colour and part of the landscape which I thought was really unique. Alex with a lot of confidence performed a beautiful piece of music which I really loved. The idea of just using sound and an image to communicate an idea or meaning. Like another language only a few would understand which is something I found really interesting and I can't wait to see and hear more of his work. It really is amazing.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page