top of page

Let me EGGsplain...


I've decided to develop my mini egg sculptures I did in Semester 1 further by exploring with different materials in making my sculptures to a bigger scale to what I am used to and more comfortable with smaller pieces of work. I decided to get some balloons and wrap them in wool, tissue paper and PVA. It was a very messy procedure but the results were good. I decided to use the wool because it is soft but when mixed with glue it hardens and holds it's shape. I have purposely left gaps so I could have flowers growing out of the egg as if they are trying to break free from this trapped space they have been confided in.

Tissue paper was a tricky material to use, I wasn't sure how many layers to put on the balloon but I think in this one there is about 2 or 3 layers which makes the result harder in some places and weaker in others. Which is something I was happy with because when holding the sculpture in your hands it has the fragile sense to it like an egg does, the texture of it is something I liked and the balloon left a red tint inside of the egg which unexpectedly added to the sculpture. I haven't decided what I want to place inside these yet it is something I am still working towards, I would say this was a success and I plan to make more tissue paper sculptures maybe with other colours as well as white.

Another wool egg but in a nice pale blue colour, the pink colour flowers I had chosen really complimented the colour of the wool I decided to use to make this egg. I believe this one was also a successful result and it is definitely something I am going to keep developing. Maybe have a whole egg just made of the stringed wool and plants trying to pop out? or a whole egg just made up of plants? I will have to see where these ideas take me.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page