top of page

Assessment

For my project this year I have decided to develop my idea of the resin sculptures from first year further by looking into landscapes, pressed flowers, leaves and how to preserve them in resin. The main ideas for my project would be on the idea of how humans participate in nature, time is in our hands with nature, everyday our surroundings are changing around us and it's our doing that it is doing so. I strongly believe nature is important and that we don't really appreciate it as much as we should. Which is why I've chosen to express this through my sculpture pieces in my project. The reason I am using resin is because it's clear and it preserves things in its natural form and shape for a very long time. Almost like capturing a memory and keeping it forever visually and physically.

After experimenting around with other materials to create my sculptures such as wax, clay, plaster and even considering glass, I will then begin to develop my ideas further into making my sculptures bigger and taking advantage of the space in my studio to present them. I have expanded my ideas further and further as the project goes on simply because of looking at my sculptures it develops new ideas for me to try, possibilities I didn't think of considering to do. My aim is to achieve a human body made from resin with plants contained inside.

I usually plan what I am going to do and stick to it, I work best with just going straight into creating the sculptures and even though I expect a certain outcome, I always get something I didn't expect to happen which isn't always a bad thing because it generates new ideas for me to try in my project. Drawing is also something I love to do to get ideas and methods down for my project it helps me stay focused on the subject and what I have tried and what I haven't done yet.

"I like to capture and treasure small beautiful natural objects to create an artwork that can be observed without the pressure of time. Preserving, treasuring, celebrating and sharing the beauty of the Earth with the world is what drives me."-Rebecca Louise Law

Rebecca is an artist that inspires me a lot in the work I produce within every project I do. I believe this quote underpins my current practice perfectly because it is something I do in all of my work, I love to treasure the small things in life, and bring them to life in my preserved artwork for everyone to observe and experience the delicate beauty in nature.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page