top of page

Plaster Hands


Using the same method I did with the alginate and wax I decided to do the same thing but to use plaster instead. Plaster is a material I haven't used before but always wanted to try it when making my work.

I wasn't expecting to get the results I got with these sculptures simply because it can be hard to tell if all the plaster has been set in all the places of the mold or the alginate can easily tear apart. However, it was successful and they have picked up all the detail on my hands and fingers which I really like. I definitely will be considering using plaster more in my project.

As you can see the sculptures have imperfections which I think gives the sculptures more of a fragile and brittle appearance. I like the plaster being white and once it's set it really has a ghostly feel when looking at them or feeling them. The main reason I am trying different methods to cast my hands is because eventually I want to cast other body parts of the human body and I want to use the best material for my sculpture.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page