top of page

Wax Hands


Continuing from the resin hand sculpture I was still using alginate to create the mold and decided to use wax to create the sculpture to see what affect it would have. When using wax it cools very quickly so once I melted it I had to work quick and carefully when pouring it into the mold. Once it had set I carefully peeled away the alginate to reveal the hand. Unfortunately the wax didn't run all the way to the bottom of the mold to create my fingers on the hand but it did stay in once piece until the little finger fell off. Even though it did not completely work, it did pick up all the detail on my hand and fingers just like the resin did which was great.

I decided to create another hand piece and I really liked the outcome of this one, even though it has a few holes in between the fingers, the detail it picked up is amazing and I love the feel of the sculpture. To me I would say it was very successful and it is definitely a material I will use more often to create my sculpture pieces.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page