top of page

Little Scenes


I decided to experiment with using colour in resin when making my sculptures, in previous projects I have tried using drawing ink but wasn't that successful in colouring the resin how I wanted. However, I tried using watercolours and it was more of a subtle colour which was perfect for my sculptures since they are dainty looking. I created a beach theme in one and the rose petal resin sculpture was just a test on the colour and what I could do with it.

I did the sculptures in two layers of the resin, starting with the coloured resin layer first with the flowers, shells and leaf of a branch inside. Once that hardened a little I then poured the clear layer of resin on top and waited for it to fully set. Using the watercolour in the resin gave the finished sculpture a cloudy look, which was something I was okay with. I loved the different view points of the sculptures because you get a different feel from the piece.

Putting the sculptures up against the window, the natural light really brought them to life and just complimented the pieces all together. The use of the light inspired me to think more of using light in my project, how could I do it? what scale could I possibly do? I began to realize the more I made and didn't expect a perfect outcome every time. It inspired more ideas for me to try within my project.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page